Giving Back: Do We Need More Awareness For Raising Awareness?

1 Feb

At the Breast Cancer Walk in Brooklyn, NY (From left, Cherie Redd, Channie, Shelz)

February makes six months since my grandmother has lost her battle with cancer, and it still seems like yesterday. Before she passed I’ve never in my life lost someone so close to me. I didn’t know how to react, what to say, or even what to do with myself.

Around the month of September I started seeing advertisements for the American Cancer Society “Makings Strides Against Breast Cancer” walk. Although my grandmother didn’t have breast cancer, the ads caught my eye, and I decided to sign up. I donated $10.00 and I really didn’t take it seriously at first, but I knew it was something I wanted to participate in with the hopes of boosting my spirits. With about 2 weeks left before the actual walk I sent out a text message to everyone on my contact list asking if they would like to make a small donation. The first reply I got from one of my close friends was “Hey, I would love to do this walk with you…. Why aren’t you promoting this?”

From that day forward we worked together, posting links on Facebook, Twitter, and reaching out to family, friends, and coworkers. In the end we raised over $200 (which I was very happy with considering the late start). More importantly, after the walk was over I felt awesome! Physically, I was drained and ended up with a blister on my foot, (a 3.4 mile walk in Air Max 95s was NOT the move.) but mentally awesome. Being amongst people going through the same emotions, and hearing success stories made me feel empowered and encouraged. It was truly a feeling I’ve never felt before.

After a week went by I started to feel bothered and annoyed, but with myself. Why did it take a tragedy for me to get off my ass and do something positive? I couldn’t understand. If giving back felt this good, why haven’t I done it sooner? It upset me I only felt the need to give a helping hand when the problem effected me directly. Is this how it is for most people? I love to think different. People don’t exactly promote fundraisers and charity events the way parties are promoted. The main goal of a fundraiser/charity is to raise awareness. Of course you want to raise money and get support but more importantly we need awareness.

So my question is, do we need more awareness for raising awareness?

— Channie

10 Responses to “Giving Back: Do We Need More Awareness For Raising Awareness?”

  1. Angela February 1, 2011 at 12:02 PM #

    Your compassion shines through, and, thanks to all your donors who contributed for such a good cause.

  2. Taylor February 1, 2011 at 5:45 PM #

    I do understand how u feel, sad to say that’s how most people respond to things. Things don’t affect people until we go through it personally or know someone close to us that’s going through it. I definitely think we need more awareness! People need to be educated on the “not so familiar”!

  3. Cola February 1, 2011 at 6:03 PM #

    I didn’t get that mass text Miss Brown! (My aunt is a breast cancer survivor) But great post regardless.

  4. Fatima X February 1, 2011 at 6:22 PM #

    Keep up the good work, young lady. Your compassion, sincerity shows.I know your grandmother is very proud.:)

    • CYNTHIA V WHITE May 20, 2011 at 9:15 AM #

      I AM LYNDA’S OLDER SISTER. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR ENCOURAGING WORDS. TODAY IS HER BIRTHDAY AND I MISS HER EMENSLY

  5. NickNice February 1, 2011 at 9:51 PM #

    Girl I absolutely love your post! However I totally agree with you. 2010 was a crazy year for me, I too lost someone very close to me from breast cancer. She was my client but more importantly a good friend! I hadn’t seen her in about a year, but would speak to her over the phone. We would constantly make plans to do lunch and I would say I am gonna bring Elijah (my now 3 yr old son who she only saw a few times since he was born) to see you. I spoke to her on 10/8/2010 and she told me (weeping) how tired she was of taking chemo and nothing is working and the tumors just keep popping up in different places..She was in stage 4…The tumors were spreading rapidly, it was now all over her body, and she was in constant pain! I cried on the phone because I knew what the next step was and there was nothing I could do! I vowed that this time we were gonna do lunch that weekend coming, It would never happen! I recieved a phone call that she passed! My friend died on 10/12/2010 and I never got a chance to say I love you/ goodbye face to face! She was more than a client and I know she truly loved me! I am gonna miss her jokes, colgate smile, hardy laugh, encouraging words,and the way she used to cuss the barbers when they wouldn’t let us watch A.N.T.M…LOL… I knew she was well liked but, When I went to her funeral, it was there I witnessed just how much of an impact she had on people…There were people lined up all the way outside the door to pay there respect to Lynda Renee Bonds! How you treat people in life is how you are perceived in death! So you see Ms Brown we are blessed to have been touched by beautiful and amazing ANGELS!

  6. Bilaal February 1, 2011 at 10:46 PM #

    very remarkable story sis. awareness is the only thing to stop diseases. and i agree never to walk in air max again LOL 🙂

  7. Marcia February 4, 2011 at 6:59 PM #

    Great post! I believe we have enough awareness, enough resources, enough advertising, people just don’t care. As you stated people only get involved when the problem effects them directly.

  8. Fred Stafford February 5, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

    Giving back is always ignored, by you taking on the physical challenge for the end result of charity shows courage and character!!

  9. nik February 7, 2011 at 4:24 PM #

    In today’s society we do need that extra push in order to do things for others. A lot of people will only contribute time and money to a cause if they are directly affected by it or if the media makes a big spectacle of a cause. I myself am guilty. I don’t think its because I’m cold hearted or don’t care, but I think its because giving back hasn’t been instilled in us as youngsters. So yes I believe that people, especially young people should be better informed about the turmoil that our world is in and which avenues to take to try and help. Good job dog.

Leave a Reply

