Calypso Cupcakes!

28 Feb

CALYPSO CUPCAKES!

Cherie Redd are consistently in mischief but we are domestic divas at heart. Personally, I love that nod of approval given when someone likes my food… mmm. That said, this is not a soup kitchen so I don’t cook for everyone at the drop of a hat so don’t start begging for free meals, This means you to dad.  Just teasing.  All for entertaining but I don’t have the time to do EVERY meal from scratch. Can I get an Amen?   As a solution I have adopted a practice I call “Razzle Dazzle” I am the self-proclaimed “Queen of  Razzle Dazzle.”  What is “Razzle Dazzle?”  It is adding something special or different to a traditional reciepe.  Examples of “Razzle Dazzle”  experiment with different cheeses in “Yo mama’s Mac n’ Cheese.”  Add Sun dried tomatoes to ANYTHING it adds a hint of posh to it trust me, its real french like. Do that and Ta-Da! You are Martha Stewart.

Last week my roomie Nikki B Decadent bought a new cupcake pan and it was FANCY! We’re talking individual removable silicone cups with cool handles and it was Kitchen Aid (ballin’!!!).  It is Trinidad’s Carnival and we want to celebrate locally, and what better way to celebrate than with cupcakes! I’ll drink to that and several other things. Shoo, I was geeked to take a test drive, so got the Betty Croc box and made it happen. As I am making these “regular ol’ cupcakes” I said you know what this needs? RAZZLE DAZZLE!

The Rolls-Royce of Bakeware!

Calypso Cupcake Recipe

-Buy a your favorite brand of cake mix in any fruit flavor I’m thinking Orange/Strawberry vs Pineapple/Lemon. Try it and let me know (I used Betty Crocker in Supreme Strawberry)

-Follow the directions on the box, simple right?

-INSTEAD of water use a combination of pineapple juice/coconut water to equal 1 cup and then stir in a 1/3 cup of tequila. *If you want to turn it up skip the juice altogether and use flavored rum*

-Bake

-While baking, get an orange or lemon and create some zest (shredded orange peel) toss with brown sugar and more tequila.

– Cool cupcakes, frost (I used Buttercream), sprinkle the zest.

-ENJOY!

Makes approx 24 cupcakes, or 12-cupcakes AND one single layer cake (we only have one of those fancy pans lol). It tastes delightful warm with ice cream.

With Calypso Cupcakes, you have the freedom to make them suit your taste but most importantly its fun! You should want to buy a headdress, sparkle bra and shake your money-maker in the streets on labor day. Maybe that’s just us.

He loves our cupcakes...

 

Now go play a tambourine and get all domesticated!

~Cherie Redd

One Response to “Calypso Cupcakes!”

  1. Angela March 1, 2011 at 12:45 PM #

    Damn you! I was salivating just looking at the picture, and..reading the ingredients really kicked it up many notches. Um, um, good. Keep up the impressive baking/culinary talents.

Leave a Reply

